Skip to content

iOS vs Android: Which is which?

July 25, 2012

Image

I was able to experience iOS 5 when I bought my first ever iPhone, the iPhone 4S. I am happy that I was finally able to try a new mobile OS but after using it for quite some time, I have encountered “challenges” that will not allow me to fully enjoy the full features of my phone. I have listed some below:

–          Not to be able to open/share/download music files to my phone (I will have to load music files through  iTunes using my notebook)

–          With limited access to most websites due to the absence of the Adobe Flash support (Will prompt you to download Adobe Flash even though the OS will not allow you)

–          Will not be able to share media content through Bluetooth (Bluetooth can only be used with your Bluetooth headset which is not part of the package when you buy an iPhone – useless I might say! )

Image

With the challenges that I mentioned above, I decided to switch. I bought a Motorola Fire XT to experience the other mobile platform, Android. My new phone is running Gingerbread. The most stable version of Android based on online reviews. I have been using the phone for about 2 months now and I can say that I am happier with it! Android was able to cover all of the iOS limitations I mentioned above.

My only concern right now is that I am not able to install all of the great applications that I want in my phone because of a limited user available internal memory but that is a not an OS issue. It’s my phone’s. LOL

(For Android, the performance of the platform will depend on the mobile device used. High end phones better platform performance.)

For in-depth comparison, you may click on the link below:

http://spyrestudios.com/android-vs-ios-a-usability-battle/

From → Mobile

2 Comments
  1. The things you mentions are exactly what’s been keeping me away from iOS. That and the over all walled off eco system Apple has created. I don’t always like playing by the rules they set so I am much happier with Android.

  2. Freedom! That’s what I like about Android 🙂 GO Android! Haha

Leave a comment

Life isn't so much a puzzle as it is a plan

I live. I think. I write. I shoot. Unedited.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.